Website Management

What is .htaccess?

.htaccess is a file that you create in a web accessible directory to override default Apache settings on that directory and all of the directories inside of it. [If you don't want this, you need to create another .htaccess file in the subdirectory changing the setting you changed back to the default.] If the directory is writable by the web server you can create a .htaccss file from the File Manager.

How to: Set, Edit, or Delete a Default Character Set

How to: Set a Default Character Set

Click the Hosting Features menu item if it is not already open.
Click the Htaccess menu item.
Click the [ Default Character Set ] link for the directory you’d like to manage.
In the Default Character Set column, enter the default character set you’d like to use. As you type, the field will auto-complete with some of the more commonly used character sets.
Click the ADD button.
How to: Edit a Default Character Set

How to: Manage PHP variables

Click the Hosting Features menu item if it is not already open.
Click the Htaccess menu item.
Click the [ PHP Variables ] for the directory you’d like to manage.
For each option, there is an “Inherited” setting. When “Inherited” is selected, the PHP variable will inherit its value from the parent directory above. The displayed value shown next to the “Inherited” option is the value that will be used for that directory.
Adjust the PHP settings as desired.
Click the UPDATE button.
Available PHP Variables

How to: Manage Indexes

Click the Hosting Features menu item if it is not already open.
Click the Htaccess menu item.
Click the [ Index Management ] link for the directory you’d like to manage.
In the “Default Index Files” text box, enter a list of default index files, on per line. This setting affects when a browser requests a URL that ends in a ‘/’ (a directory). Apache will use this list of files to determine which file to serve. Apache will serve the first file found in the list, from top to bottom.

How to: Manage Hotlink Protection

Click the Hosting Features menu item if it is not already open.
Click the Htaccess menu item.
Click the [ Hotlink Protection ] link for the directory you’d like to manage.
In the “Hotlink Protection Status” drop down, choose if you want the protection enabled immediately, or not. This option is useful if you’d like to turn your hotlink protection settings on or off quickly to see the difference, without deleting your hotlink protection settings and having to re-create them.

How to: Enable a domain wide .htaccess file

Click the Hosting Features menu item if it is not already open.
Click the Htaccess menu item.
Locate the Global Directory Options section.
If a domain wide .htaccess file is currently disabled, you will see an ENABLE button. Click this button to enable the .htaccess file.

How to: Enable a directory specific .htaccess file

How to: Enable a directory specific .htaccess file

 

Click the Hosting Features menu item if it is not already open.
Click the Htaccess menu item.
Locate the Per Directory Options section.
Click the checkbox next to the directory or directories you want to enable the .htaccess file in.
Using the drop down at the bottom of the list of directories, select “Enable”.

How to: Disable a domain wide .htaccess file

Click the Hosting Features menu item if it is not already open.
Click the Htaccess menu item.
Locate the Global Directory Options section.
If a domain wide .htaccess file is currently enabled, you will see aDISABLE button. Click this button to disable the .htaccess file.

How to: Disable a directory specific .htaccess file

Click the Hosting Features menu item if it is not already open.
Click the Htaccess menu item.
Locate the Per Directory Options section.
Click the checkbox next to the directory or directories you want to disable the .htaccess file in.
Using the drop down at the bottom of the list of directories, select “Disable”.

How to: Delete the domain wide .htaccess file

Click the Hosting Features menu item if it is not already open.
Click the Htaccess menu item.
Locate the Global Directory Options section.
Click the DELETE button.
You will see a confirmation page. Click the DELETE button to confirm.